Hon. Elvert Ayambem Emerges Speaker of 10th Assembly of Cross River State

The member representing Ikom 2 State constituency and second term lawmaker, Hon. Elvert Ayambem has been elected Speaker of the 10th Assembly of Cross River State.

Likewise, his counterpart in the Obudu State constituency and first term lawmaker, Sylvester Agabi is elected Deputy Speaker.

Mr. Ayambem was the sole nominee for the position after the Clerk read the proclamation sent by Governor Bassey Otu.

The member representing Etung constituency, Kingsley Ntui nominated Hon. Ayambem while the member representing Bakassi constituency, Eyo Okon Edet seconded the nomination.

The Clerk while relying on the rules of the Assembly then declared Hon. Ayambem as the Speaker of the Assembly.

Afterwards, the member representing Calabar Municipal constituency, Stanley Nsemo nominated his fellow first term member from Obudu, Sylvester Agabi as Deputy Speaker.

The nomination was seconded by the member representing Boki 1 constituency, Bette Obi.

Mr. Agabi emerged unopposed and was declared as Deputy Speaker by the Clerk of the House.

After taking their oath of office, the House went on recess and resumed shortly afterwards with the Speaker reading letters from the All Progressives Congress, APC and the People’s Democratic Party, PDP with details of the leadership of the House.

They are: Majority leader: Hon. Bassey Asuquo (Odukpani, APC)

Deputy Majority Leader: Rt. Hon. Davies Etta (Abi, APC)

Chief Whip – Rt. Hon. Hillary Bisong (Boki 2, APC)

Deputy Chief Whip – Rt. Hon. Ovat Agbor (Obubra 1, APC)

Minority Leader – Hon. Abang Neji (Ikom 1, PDP)

Deputy Minority Leader – Hon. Rita Ayim (Ogoja, PDP)

Minority Whip – Hon. Charles Omang (Bekwarra, PDP)

Deputy Minority Whip – Hon. Achadu Martins (Yala 2, PDP)

After the announcements were made, the Leader of the House, Hon. Asuquo moved the motion that the House was properly constituted and ready for business. This was seconded by the Deputy Leader, Rt. Hon. Etta. The motion was put to voice vote and it was unanimous.

Thereafter, the Speaker proceeded to address the House where he said he will lead an Assembly that will pursue consultations and give priority to project Cross River.

He said most of the members, like him, are products of public institutions which are currently bastardized and pledged that Constituents will see these systems functional again as there will be no arm chair legislation.

Afterwards, Rt. Hon. Etta moved the motion for plenary to be adjourned until Tuesday, June 27, 2023 which was seconded by the member representing Akamkpa 1 constituency, Hon. Okon Owuna.